Working for access to quality public healthcare in South Africa since 1998
The Treatment Action Campaign is led by a National Council that meets four times per year. This body is composed of leaders elected by our membership. It has representation from all seven provinces in which the TAC is currently working.
A second smaller group called the National Office Bearers is responsible for day-to-day political decision making in the organisation. The seven National Office Bearers are also elected by our members. Below are the current National Office Bearers of the TAC.
Chairperson – Sibongile Tshabalala
Deputy Chairperson – Patrick Mdletshe
General Secretary – Anele Yawa
Deputy General Secretary – Vuyokazi Gonyela
PLHIV Sector Representative – Vuyani Macotha
Women’s Sector Representative – Thandi Maloka
LGBTQIA+ Sector Representative – Philemon Twala
Youth Sector Representative – Lebo Mokhele
Men’s Sector Representative – Pule Goqo
The political structures are supported by the TAC’s operational structures – in the form of an executive committee that takes responsibility for day-to-day management and a staff complement organised into a national and seven provincial offices. To ensure proper governance and financial accountability all of this is overseen by an independent Board of Directors.
Qondisa Ngwenya (Chairperson of the Board)
Ditabe Chocho (Treasurer)
Katherine Jane Barrett
Mark Heywood
Fareed Abdullah
Moray Hawthorn
Sibongile Tshabalala (TAC Chairperson)
Anele Yawa (TAC General Secretary)